The Avett Brothers

I came across this video on youtube. If I could get the Avett Brothers to play at our wedding, I would die.

We have many things in common with this video.

First, that’s the song I think we’re going to play for our first dance (am I supposed to tell that? or is it a secret?).

And second, we actually looked at having our wedding at the venue in the video. It’s called Claxton Farms and it’s in Asheville. I knew, however, that it was not the right place for us to get married when they said they were going to charge us over $300 for one keg of beer. Granted, it’s a local brewery, but you can get the same keg from the store for $100. Lame.

~ by Jennifer on December 17, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Avett Brothers”

  1. Claxton Farm is beautiful!!! Our wedding was there too! And the Avett Brothers – AMAZING!
    I found the keg price to be reasonable though. THINK ABOUT IT…a keg has approximately 140 beers in it so that would make a beer only $2.21 each if the whole keg cost $310…you can walk in a local bar and buy a local brew for about $3. Sorry you missed out on such a perfect wedding location over something so small…my wedding was perfect at Claxton Farm!! My guests are still talking about it and it has been 3 years! Thank for posting this video as I LOVE THE AVETT BROTHERS and wish I could have afforded to have them at my wedding too!

  2. You’re right, Claxton Farm is beautiful! The keg price wasn’t the only reason I couldn’t justifying having our wedding there… there were other reasons. I just found it a little ridiculous that they were tripling the cost of the keg – and keeping the rest themselves. I found an equally as beautiful place (if not more) for half the price, which included everything in one price, where claxton farms kept adding on, which made the cost rise.
    But man, if I could have those Avetts!! 🙂

  3. Jennifer, where will you be having your wedding, if you don’t mind me asking? I am looking at Claxton Farms for my wedding, but I’d love to hear about any similar venues in NC.

    • Hey Lauren, We are getting married at Hidden River. It’s right next to Warren Wilson College in Swannanoa. It’s really beautiful. It’s fairly new, so it’s still pretty affordable, but it doesn’t include food or anything like Claxton Farms does. I really liked that aspect of it, but I know some people would rather just not worry about it, but this way we were able to get the food we wanted at a more reasonable price (we’re going with Laurie’s Catering in Asheville – I definitely recommend her if you go with somewhere that you have to pick your own caterer). Hidden River’s website is http://www.hiddenriverevents.com – I definitely suggest checking it out!

Leave a comment